News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to edit out certain sounds?  (Read 2319 times)

rach

• View Profile
How to edit out certain sounds?
« on: May 29, 2016, 06:04:51 pm »
Hi, could someone point me in the right directions to do this? I have zero hacking/ROM hacking knowledge.

I'd like to edit a few of the sounds out of the arcade game Rave Racer for the Viva Nonno emulator. The female voice is annoying, maybe some of the male's voice, too.

Thanks.

henke37

• View Profile
Re: How to edit out certain sounds?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 08:37:04 am »
The most stylish way is to find the spot in the program code that triggers those sounds and replace them with nops.

But there is also the option to tamper with the sound data, such as changing the length of it to zero or replacing the data with silence.

FAST6191

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2016, 09:45:38 am »
Also depending upon the emulator and the system it is playing on and the system it is emulating you might also find that some sound channels are only used for the effects. If you can then disable them in an emulator you might retain the music but keep the sounds. For any other 1995 game I might have said don't bother as it is not likely (things like the DS have 16 fully customisable audio channels to play with and can dedicate things, older consoles had to make do with a lot less but the arcades can be the exception).

As it is an arcade game someone might have already analysed the game. Indeed https://github.com/mamedev/mame/blob/3afd990226a2c647290579bebb5537bd0fd3faac/src/mame/drivers/namcos22.cpp mentions things for the audio which might help focus things more quickly than if you tried it for the NES or something where it could be nice and custom from the ground up.

After that yeah you are doing what henke37 said.

rach

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2016, 06:32:52 pm »