News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to decompile a game engine in a psone game?  (Read 1103 times)

battleonfan1

• View Profile
How to decompile a game engine in a psone game?
« on: January 24, 2016, 12:13:57 am »
Sorry if the wording of this article is erroneous, I'm new to hacking. Anyways I really like the game called Toy Story 2 for the psone. I have 2-3 years experience in blender with modeling and texturing. I also understand how code logic works. I want to make my own levels for the game. A map pack so to speak. But I don't know the first thing about doing this. I don't care how hard it is. Whatever I need to do I will do it.

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: How to decompile a game engine in a psone game?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2016, 10:58:35 am »
Decompile does have a specific meaning in hacking/programming, that being turning compiled code back into high level code and is it is considered one of the harder things to do in computing (see halting problem), however that is not quite what you asked.

If you can edit stats or even make some cheats you can probably make some headway in level editing. We could talk a lot of theory but I am not sure how useful that would be in your case, time for a video of the gameplay footage
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3VOkNtzHsw
Ah the classic vaguely themed tie in.

Anyway it is 3d which means some stuff from the 2d world is less applicable which is why I skipped the theory. I see obstacles/things that can be climbed, possibly some movement/physics (the pushing and the getting out of the crib stuff) but more likely pre-animated things, collectables, help boxes, the race thing is odd, not sure about that robot battle in the attic, position related audio effects for the "friendlies" and some enemies.
3d worlds usually do one of two things for the base world