News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Translating BS Golf Daisuki - Newb  (Read 3428 times)

jaskamakkara

• View Profile
Translating BS Golf Daisuki - Newb
« on: August 19, 2015, 03:25:27 am »
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to this sort of thing, I've played around with hardware for a while, but I thought I'd try my hand at a little ROM hacking as a hobby. I've been playing a bit of BS Golf Daisuki: O.B. Club on SNES recently, the game has very little text but I thought it would be fun to try and translate the menu text to English to help introduce new players to the game, particularly as I can't find a translation patch on the net anywhere at the moment.

After digging around and reading some tutorials, I have managed to find where the text characters are stored in the ROM (the Latin chars are just beneath what you can see here):

Many of the guides I have read suggest using a Relative Search on the ROM with a phrase that appears in the game (the relative values calculated from the order of the characters as they appear inside the ROM, i.e. the picture above).  I would like, for example to change the text on the following screen of the game:

If I try to perform a relative search for a string of chars that appear on this screen (so for example "とリけし" [the label for the B button in the picture] becomes 64, E1, 23, 41 - using the first Jap character in the top-left as 00), then I get no results.  Can anyone help me with finding these text strings inside the ROM?  I must confess that I am finding this tricky even after reading just about as much as I can get my hands on online.

I think it's something to do with the fact that the characters are on 8x16 tiles, whereas the tutorials I have been reading have been using games that have the characters on 8x8 grids.

Thanks

August 19, 2015, 07:08:38 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Rephrased my question.