News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: FF4 SNES graphics editing with YY-CHR / Tile Layer Pro  (Read 3249 times)

Bahamut ZERO

• View Profile
FF4 SNES graphics editing with YY-CHR / Tile Layer Pro
« on: February 08, 2015, 05:59:47 pm »
I want to change Dark Knight Cecil's overworld and in-battle graphics to more resemble his character portrait and not look like an armored-fish-man. 

I also want to change up some of the other  main characters, like Kain's overworld/in-battle graphics, Edward's overworld sprite, and change the palettes of the Underworld/Moon overworld graphics, and the graphic of the moon when you view it through the telescope in Agart.

The thing is, I'm new to YY-CHR and I can't really tell where the hell anything is. I found some of the title screen graphics, but other than that I'm mostly swimming in a sea of pixels. X_X.

So I was wondering if anyone cold point me in the direction to some info about the graphics, perhaps some pointers with the program I'm using, or if maybe a different graphics editor could help make my search a little easier. Thank you.  :)

*UPDATE 2/13/2015*

After switching to Tile Layer Pro for it's tile arranger and palettes that are easier on my eyes, as well as five hours of messing around, I bring you all a screenshot of my blood, sweat, and tears - Character Portrait Cecil.

Normal, untouched character portrait

Now with a sprite that resembles it.  :D

Facing Down

Waving out

Facing Up

Bowing Head

Wave In

Sideview

Walking

Wounded/ Knocked Out

At some point I want to work on the sideview and knocked out poses a little more,  but all in all it looks pretty great ingame.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also for gits and shiggles, here's a couple pics from the WIP progress stages:

1: Normal Cecil with horns

Normal Cecil with horns Sideview