News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia  (Read 22321 times)

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #20 on: April 28, 2014, 02:11:25 pm »
Thank you so far I'm sure this will be helpful sooner or later  :)
Meanwhile a little update even though it's not a major progress:

http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

Jonesy47

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #21 on: April 28, 2014, 03:54:29 pm »
The sprite editing of this game could be VERY amazing. Thanks!

andrewclunn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #22 on: April 28, 2014, 10:42:35 pm »
I'm sorry.  I couldn't find the code.  Though 3 of my backup CDs apparently had degraded, so it was probably on one of those :(  I think what you're doing is awesome though!

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2014, 03:41:59 am »
A first version of the editor is now ready for download!
The current features and the download link can be found here:

http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

VicVergil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2014, 09:42:16 am »
Awesome :D
I see you you still haven't found how to modify the title screen (or the beta)
Hope you wouldn't give up on it :)

EDIT: for some reason it doesn't seem to work for me.
When I load setup it's stuck indefinitely on "Installing NET Frameworks 4.5", and clicking on the various other files yield "application not formatted correctly".

RE-EDIT: Never mind. It worked (after a looooong wait, like 15 minutes or so)
But when I load Tileset 116 it doesn't show the font fully, and there's no way to make the viewer's window scroll down to see the rest of it. Any solutions?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 12:15:55 pm by GHANMI »

magno

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2014, 01:57:58 pm »
Congratulations! It looks awesome and it is really inspiring for some of us XD

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2014, 02:59:06 pm »
@GHANMI: I'm glad you got it working :) Can you post a screenshot of Tileset 116? For me it looks normal, all font characters are displayed..
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

VicVergil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2014, 05:07:30 pm »
Yup, here :)
Problem being I can't scroll down here to see the remaining chars.
(Other tilesets have the same problem, in fact.)
There's also nothing besides the Tileset tab (besides "'Cloud Speed"???), I suppose that's normal but I should let you know.

Oh, and if you are taking suggestions, an export/import PNG feature would be useful a lot :)


manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #28 on: May 17, 2014, 09:59:23 am »
Ok this seems to be a problem which occurs depending on the resolution of the sreen.  I will check it out if I can find a solution  :-\
PNG import/export is already on my to-do-list  ;)

A small update:
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #29 on: June 20, 2014, 06:42:14 pm »
A new version of the editor is available:
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

@GHANMI: I changed some settings so maybe the resolution problem is solved. I tried with different resolutions on my machines and all looked good.
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #30 on: July 11, 2014, 08:07:14 am »
An new version of the editor is ready for download. In contrast to the last version this version is executable  :)

http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

Thanatos-Zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 238
  • NES Graphic Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #31 on: July 19, 2014, 02:03:25 pm »
« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 03:14:54 pm by Thanatos-Zero »

ChronoMoogle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Super Famicom all the way.
    • View Profile
    • SNESfreaks
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #32 on: July 19, 2014, 05:24:14 pm »
Bosses in Action-RPGs are hardcoded most of the time and can't be changed much with editors (if you put status changes aside). You have to poke at the code yourself to alter AI most of the time and if you even want to extend the battle you need to add new routines to the code yourself.

justin3009

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1654
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #33 on: July 19, 2014, 08:53:11 pm »
Exactly what ChronoMoogle said.  AI data is definitely not really an 'editor' type of thing unless there's various commands that are used frequently by other enemies.  In either case, you'll most likely have to either expand the AI or alter the hardcoded data specifically to that boss through ASM.  Though if it's just expanding the number of projectiles or changing their amount to shoot, that's most likely a very simple couple byte change.  Most of the AI I've encountered in various games has a loop or a specific number that can be altered to expand the timing or the number of missiles so it should be fairly quick if this game is similar in that respect.
'We have to find some way to incorporate the general civilians in the plot.'

'We'll kill off children in the Juuban district with an infection where they cough up blood and are found hanging themselves from cherry blossom trees.'

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #34 on: July 24, 2014, 03:49:17 pm »
I recently found where the events are stored for each map. So I can take a look and see if I can find a boss event. But editing will be pretty hard as ChronoMoogle and justin3009 already said. I tried to edit a NPC that walks a specific route but couldn't even figureout how that exactly works yet. So there will be a lot of work to do until boss editing will be a matter of interest but I will try to make the best out of it  ;)
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #35 on: November 10, 2014, 01:06:49 pm »
A new version of the editor is available  ;)

http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

Grimoire LD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #36 on: November 14, 2014, 11:07:17 pm »
Hmm, when I go to download it Google chrome immediately says it is a malicious file. Any chance of uploading it elsewhere to see if that still occurs?

andrewclunn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #37 on: November 21, 2014, 09:37:00 am »
Because the color and text speed is contained within each text block, how are you universally changing this?  If you change all of Will's text to the color of Seth's text, and then change the color of all of Seth's text, will you impact both Will's and Seth's text afterward?

manafreak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #38 on: December 04, 2014, 02:36:20 pm »
Every text color has it's own color index (Will = 0x00, Kara = 0x01 and so on). Given that there is a sound effect as well as other data bound to a specific color index I will just call that data set a text profile. You can change the color for a text profile universally in the editor.
If you want to use the color of a text profile in a message you just have to choose the right index. Hope this answers your question a little bit  ;D

The editor progresses more and more, I recently found the map exits as well as item graphics  :)
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

@Grimoire LD: Have you tried to download it with another browser? I tried it for myself and it worked with Chrome, Firefox and IE..
Gaia the Creator - The editor for Illusion of Gaia
http://gaiathecreator.blogspot.de/

Grimoire LD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Gaia the Creator - An editor for Illusion of Gaia
« Reply #39 on: December 05, 2014, 09:32:20 pm »
Those are some fancy finds! I'm glad to see that you're going straight ahead to putting them in the editor. I just tried to redownload it and it worked fine the way you've put the editor is thoughtful and intuitive and it looks like you already have some extra ideas considering the currently empty tabs, I might have to play around with this a little to check out the "?" maps, if for nothing else at the moment.