News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [PS1]Ace Combat 3 Electrosphere: text replacement (next ver. coming soon)  (Read 109565 times)

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #240 on: July 29, 2015, 08:43:46 pm »
The project has been updated to v1.1. You can grab the new patch on my dropbox for the time being: http://tinyurl.com/nh7prjb

Blog post: http://useatoday.blogspot.com/2015/07/re-disc-1.html

State of the Project 2015 coming up late next month.

D.O.Eraven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #241 on: July 31, 2015, 02:20:44 am »
I downloaded the patch a few times , dragonspike , and am having trouble checksum .
Despite having an ISO with your same checksum , it gives me the error " checksum mismatch : XD3_INVALID_INPUT ".
-AC3 Italian Translation Project-
http://ac3es.infrid.com/doku.php?id=start

OrientalComputer_1

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #242 on: July 31, 2015, 09:11:52 am »
Yes, I can confirm the issue when using:

+ Disc1 with md5 (as mentionned in the readme):
30F7DCE98B6901290CB26C9BAF27268F

+ Patch "AC3E_IE_Disc1_(1.1).xdelta" with MD5:
CE3A9CAD2BF6FA662475E17E13553091

=> Error "xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: XD3_INVALID_INPUT".

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #243 on: July 31, 2015, 10:53:25 am »
That's so strange. I based this patch off a fresh new image. I'm gonna take a look into this and try to find the problem.

EDIT: there's a new patch on my dropbox, if anyone here wants to try and give feedback on whether this one works or not, here it this: http://tinyurl.com/p65bgv3
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 01:54:54 pm by DragonSpikeXIII »

D.O.Eraven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #244 on: July 31, 2015, 02:43:23 pm »
Okay dragonspike, it works  ;D
-AC3 Italian Translation Project-
http://ac3es.infrid.com/doku.php?id=start

OrientalComputer_1

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #245 on: July 31, 2015, 03:28:31 pm »

Ser Evergreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #246 on: July 31, 2015, 06:02:12 pm »
Yeah, the old version of 1.1's xdelta is mismatched for some reason, but I can also confirm the new version to be working. Much appreciated for you and your team's effort, DSXIII.  :cookie:

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #247 on: July 31, 2015, 06:39:03 pm »
Thanks ser evergreen, seems this is finally the good one.

Since verifying the MD5 checksums helped me find and replace a bad image that I was using, here are the checksums plus file sizes for Disc 1 and for this third iteration of patch 1.1:

SLPS-02020: 30f7dce98b6901290cb26c9baf27268f

Size: 683 MB (716,287,488 bytes)

Size on disk: 683 MB (716,288,000 bytes)

Patch 1.1: d0e44f993f711c9c67753d7c1ffbe7d3

Size: 5.04 MB (5,290,830 bytes)

Size on disk: 5.04 MB (5,292,032 bytes)

Barring any further oversights, these two put together with xdeltaUI should give you a good image.

Patched: a00c2658d1d0da4e9d435fdbacb02b7e

Size: 688 MB (721,774,704 bytes)

Size on disk: 688 MB (721,776,640 bytes)

Additionally, since the patch applies only to the BIN image, and we're all still using the BIN/CUE format, here's a link to the .cue file that should be coupled with the BIN. It's made to work with an image named "ac3.bin" but if you want to rename your image, you can always edit the .cue with notepad, it should still work. I don't think you'll need it if you're playing on your computer, but it might come useful when burning or converting. Find the .cue here: http://tinyurl.com/nrtxkak

By the way, the right 1.1 patch will be available on my dropbox for now but I'll take it down once it's up on our homepage (projectnemo.net) and here on RHDN (http://www.romhacking.net/translations/2307/).
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 06:58:45 pm by DragonSpikeXIII »

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #248 on: July 31, 2015, 08:35:49 pm »
DSXIII, as soon as you give the MD5, no need for file size/on disk etc anymore ^^;
Just tried the new patch 1.1, applied correctly giving expected MD5, all good.

But I have a bug to report, on real hardware (blue psx debug), the game freezes when selecting "Archive" from the menu.
No such issue on emulator (epsxe).
I'm pretty sure my burn is ok..

Can someone reproduce/verify?

Edit: false alarm! it's working OK on subsequent tries, strange...
maybe some spec of dust got on the CD or something xD



« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 08:47:05 pm by Alcahest »

D.O.Eraven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #249 on: July 31, 2015, 09:48:00 pm »

But I have a bug to report, on real hardware (blue psx debug), the game freezes when selecting "Archive" from the menu.
No such issue on emulator (epsxe).
I'm pretty sure my burn is ok..

Can someone reproduce/verify?

Edit: false alarm! it's working OK on subsequent tries, strange...
maybe some spec of dust got on the CD or something xD

Alcahest , I know very well your problem XD !
It ' a type read error and you can confirm it because I had a console that had worn the optical unit ( SCPH - 7502 ) and when I happened to go to a section of the date electrosphere swallow , it crashed and then off again.
You have a Debugging Station and has the KSM - 440ACM / AAM always .... if you have not replaced :) .
Unfortunately, this lasers are really bad and have read errors with them is " normal " .
( I own 7 x SCPH 1002, 1 x SCPH 1000, 1 x SCPH 5000, 1 x SCPH 1001)
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 08:55:06 am by D.O.Eraven »
-AC3 Italian Translation Project-
http://ac3es.infrid.com/doku.php?id=start

OrientalComputer_1

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #250 on: July 31, 2015, 09:54:46 pm »
D.O.Eraven, thanks for your input.
I actually put a new genuine KSM-440BAM from a PSone into my debug and it works flawelessly.
Hence my surprise when it froze going in the "Archive"..
But so far so good, it must have been a fluke.

D.O.Eraven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #251 on: July 31, 2015, 11:23:39 pm »
Oh , you did great! :)
I think what you 've ever could happen to anyone with a similar model .
Unfortunately these models of PS , the focus is not accurate as the later models . Sometimes you have to calibrate the three trimmer console ( F.BIAS , F.GAIN , T.GAIN ) but if it turns bad law , does nothing . ; )
However soooo stupid question , but if you remove it from XdeltaUI checksum verification , it is possible to patch everything ?
If so it would be great because you could patch any version of AC3 in JAP .
( SLPS 02020-1, SLPS 91214-5, SCPS 45397-8)
-AC3 Italian Translation Project-
http://ac3es.infrid.com/doku.php?id=start

OrientalComputer_1

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #252 on: July 31, 2015, 11:37:36 pm »
However soooo stupid question , but if you remove it from XdeltaUI checksum verification , it is possible to patch everything ?
If so it would be great because you could patch any version of AC3 in JAP .
( SLPS 02020-1, SLPS 91214-5, SCPS 45397-8)

About supporting other releases of AC3, such as SLPS 91214~5 (the Best reissue I presume) and the Chinese SCPS release, there are no plans to do so at the moment.

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #253 on: July 31, 2015, 11:50:27 pm »
Actually you are supporting the Chinese/SCPS release (which is internally SLPS-02020 v1.1).
What you don't support is the "pure" jpn release (SLPS-02020 = SLPS-91214 = v1.0).
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 11:56:57 pm by Alcahest »

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #254 on: July 31, 2015, 11:58:14 pm »
Actually you are supporting the Chinese/SCPS release (which is internally SLPS v1.1).
What you don't support is the "pure" jpn release (SLPS-02020 = SLPS-91214 = v1.0).

I don't think so, the only release I have is the SLPS-02020~1 (two copies). I had to make an image from one of these copies to make this new patch work.

How could I even be supporting a release I never even tried or used during internal development :huh:

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #255 on: August 01, 2015, 12:29:16 am »
I don't think so, the only release I have is the SLPS-02020~1 (two copies). I had to make an image from one of these copies to make this new patch work.

How could I even be supporting a release I never even tried or used during internal development :huh:
Oh seems you have a "pure" jpn ver 1.1 then..
Are both "disc 1" of your two copies identical (md5 match)?
It'd be funny if one copy was 1.0 and the other 1.1.

Regarding SCPS support, since the patch is made for v1.1, you're supporting it de facto.
(while the chinese release has a different productID (SCPS) on the box, manual, and even printed on the disc, the content of the disc itself is a 1:1 copy of the pure jpn version v1.1, with SLPS executable and all)
« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 12:39:18 am by Alcahest »

DragonSpikeXIII

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Team NEMO
    • View Profile
    • Project NEMO
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #256 on: August 01, 2015, 12:48:51 am »
Oh seems you have a "pure" jpn ver 1.1 then..
Are both "disc 1" of your two copies identical (md5 match)?
It'd be funny if one copy was 1.0 and the other 1.1.

Regarding SCPS support, since the patch is made for v1.1, you're supporting it de facto.

Well, I don't know what to make of this pure/1.0/1.1 business, I can only go as far as my first-hand experience allows and my information is as stated in my posts.

Which is SLPS-02020~1, two physical copies which share the same identical checksum as stated by myself more than once as 30f7dce98b6901290cb26c9baf27268f

Hence this is what I've written in the readme file for this patch since that's what I have here. I can't comment on the other releases as I don't have any access to them. They may or may not be compatible with this patch in spite of their presumably different checksums. In the case they are, then we're all the better for it but if they're not then there are no plans at the moment to support them. If someone either one or both of these releases, feel free to try this 1.1 xdelta patch and let us know here.

Far as "1.0" or "1.1", I would need to check the images I have with some program but I wouldn't know which one to use. I wouldn't mind checking this just to add more details to my reports.

Alcahest

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Demon of Elru
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #257 on: August 01, 2015, 12:59:23 am »
It's super simple.

If disc1 of your set has MD5: 86fd694677098d26909086895404f571
then your set is 1.0

If disc1 of your set has MD5: 30f7dce98b6901290cb26c9baf27268f
then your set is 1.1

So both your sets are 1.1.

"pure" jpn release: japanese release for the japanese market.
In contrast to SCPS which is the japanese release for the chinese market.

While "pure" jpn release can either be 1.0 or 1.1, it seems SCPS release only come in 1.1, so compatible with the patch.

That's about it ^^;
« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 01:08:15 am by Alcahest »

Ser Evergreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #258 on: August 01, 2015, 01:11:23 am »
It does seem quite possible that you own the SCPS-45397 version in the end, DSXIII, as looking back at the previous posts, it became more clear that we were all thinking that we were supposed to be owning and patching SLPS-02020, but instead we have been using SCPS-45397 instead.

This is most evident from Reply #217 by D.O Raven, Reply #224 by niko_holder, Reply #228 by Ikkyu, Reply #229 by Alcahest and Reply #231 by contra, as well as my own realization which was confirmed by Alcahest.

And to be quite frank, I would not be surprised, considering I have noticed how much more widespread ownership of SCPS-45397 seems to be compared to legitimate SLPS-02020 when I looked around online.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 01:20:59 am by Ser Evergreen »

D.O.Eraven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [PS1]ACE COMBAT 3: text replacement (Jpn.->Eng.)
« Reply #259 on: August 01, 2015, 01:25:23 am »

Regarding SCPS support, since the patch is made for v1.1, you're supporting it de facto.
(while the chinese release has a different productID (SCPS) on the box, manual, and even printed on the disc, the content of the disc itself is a 1:1 copy of the pure jpn version v1.1, with SLPS executable and all)
mmmh, let me check something of my copies ;) !
-AC3 Italian Translation Project-
http://ac3es.infrid.com/doku.php?id=start

OrientalComputer_1