News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [GBA] Kirby & The Amazing Mirror - Cannot find timers?  (Read 2655 times)

PRIZZA

• View Profile
    • Aeon Rivals
[GBA] Kirby & The Amazing Mirror - Cannot find timers?
« on: January 13, 2014, 05:40:22 pm »
Howdy,

I've been messing with ASM hacking Kirby & The Amazing Mirror (U) and have been having a hell of a time finding any values related to timers. Granted I'm new to hacking GBA games but I've been finding other values easily.

For example, the "Bomb" ability lets you pull out bombs to throw at enemies. When you pull a bomb out, a timer starts and if you don't throw the bomb fast enough it explodes in your hands and injures you. I CANNOT find the timer for a bomb that is pulled out.

I try taking a bomb out and searching for values that decrease, values that increase, etc... and just can't locate the correct address. I've tired searching 8bit, 16bit, and even 32bits searches for values and nothing.

If you want to try using the Bomb ability, change address 02020fe3 (Kirby's ability) to hex 09.

Thanks to anyone that can point me in the right direction.

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: [GBA] Kirby & The Amazing Mirror - Cannot find timers?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2014, 06:27:28 pm »
I lack the time to go through the game properly right now but are you sure the value does not live in a register or the stack? I have seen far more long lived variables be stored in such places on other games, a cursory scan did not reveal anything here but it could still be the case..

Also when you say "searches for values" it sounds like you mean you have done "anything that decreases" and "anything that increases" type searches rather than hard numbers (in VBA this would be an old value search rather than a specific value search)

PRIZZA

• View Profile
    • Aeon Rivals
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2014, 06:45:06 pm »