News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: To Nintendo 64 Retexture Experts - A little Help Please  (Read 9285 times)

Lightpost

• View Profile
To Nintendo 64 Retexture Experts - A little Help Please
« on: October 30, 2013, 02:13:36 am »
Update:

Noob here working on my very first N64 Retexture Project. I need a little help with a few things regarding Hex Editing but I'll discuss it at the end of this post.
I'm using Phantom7's Hi-Res Texture Pack as a basis and replaced a few of the textures with the ones Disbala used for his Twilight Princess - Skyward Sword Texture Pack. I haven't played Skyward Sword nor Twilight Princess yet (I'm such a loser).

I've only retextured most of Kokiri Forest, a little in Lost Woods, Link's clothing and equipment, some parts of the HUD which I'd say is about 90% complete after two weeks of working on it. Screenies below.

WARNING!

Bright textures used. Take time to stare at each of the A Link to the Past, Minish Cap and Wind Waker screenshots below. This will help you adjust to what you're about to see. This way, you won't damage your eyes.  :laugh:

Okay, sorry about that. Here they are.

[You can click each image to increase its size a bit]

^ I like how the paint blotches become more obvious whenever you get too close to a texture, especially the tree bark here.

I know Kokiri Forest is supposed to look dreary. If ever I get my hands on all the textures found in Skyward Sword, I'll use the closest images to replicate the atmosphere of each area. With Disbala's texture rips, I won't get as far as Death Mountain :(. With the bright textures I'm currently using, Kokiri Forest's background music fit very well.

If you look at the Great Deku Tree's leaves, you'll see those black silhouettes. I've yet to find that image in the dumped ones to edit it.