News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)  (Read 10364 times)

speednick0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Well, also, im new here, so sorry if there is something wrong, haha

But, iv been searching for 3 days for how to replace the sprites (Mario, Luigi, Toad and Peach) from Super Mario Bros. 2 to my own characters.

Iv  been searching everywhere, but i can't find anything! D:

If someone has any suggestions or tips or sites or anything whats helpful, please send it, i would be very happy!!

Here is the sprites of the running animation (+ Holding and throwing) from my character Joseline:



Plus a small animation i did of the character select: (Not editted yet)

« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 09:41:52 pm by speednick0 »

Zynk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 932
  • WIP Roll-chan: The Wily Wars
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2013, 10:38:37 pm »
Heys!  :D I recommend this utility: YY-CHR

It displays the tiles of sprites & background. The tiles are arranged in a pattern. To better acquaint yourself to that utility, find Mario's sprite tiles & try arranging the tiles like a jigsaw puzzle.

To better view the tile patterns, you should use a NES emulator, like FCEUX. Load the game & find the Debug menu > PPU viewer. The PPU viewer lets you view the tiles from what YY-CHR displays.

Klarth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 494
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2013, 11:02:54 pm »
Sprites are at 0x20010 in NES 2bpp.  Closest pattern in yy-chr (.NET) is the FC/NES x16, but it's not exact.  Maybe I'm just not familiar enough with it or maybe the C++ version is better.

If you use Tile Molester instead, you can do this:
1. View->Codec to 2bpp planar, composite
2. Enable View->Row Interleave
3. Set View->Block Size->Custom to 2 columns, 4 rows.
(Optional: Set Image->Canvas Size to 2 columns)

You'll have to do some piecework because the sprites are optimized for space.

mkwong98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2013, 11:24:14 am »
If you don't know how to hack roms, then you can try the graphics replacement feature of my emulator:
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9935

Beware that other emulators do not support this feature.

Satoshi_Matrix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Retro & Contemporary Gamer
    • View Profile
    • Retro & Contemporary Gaming Archives
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2013, 02:45:20 am »
Also, your sprites contain too many colors. Remember that sprites can only use three colors and a transparency. SMB2 sprites are a bit special in that they use two sprites (one for the eyes) similar to what Capcom did with Megaman.

Mattrizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2013, 08:01:49 am »
In addition to Satoshi_Matrix's post, your sprites are too large.  At most, the playable character sprites in SMB2 can only be 16 pixels wide and 32 pixels tall without rewriting the rendering code.

Satoshi_Matrix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Retro & Contemporary Gamer
    • View Profile
    • Retro & Contemporary Gaming Archives
Re: Does anyone knows how to replace sprites? (From Super Mario Bros. 2)
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2013, 04:46:38 pm »
however, it is a good start. You just need to simply and shrink your sprites, but not change them too much. The frames are correct.


Unless you were talking about hacking the Super Mario All Stars version of SMB2?