News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Want to translate a PS1 game, need some help  (Read 5022 times)

The_Reaper_CooL

• View Profile
Want to translate a PS1 game, need some help
« on: May 22, 2013, 12:14:02 pm »
Hi guys!

I want to translate a PlayStation 1 game, but I can't copy the files out of the game/image/ISO/whatever.

I need some help with this, because I have some knowledge on HEX Editing text and whatnot, I just need help with file copying (for now :D)

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Want to translate a PS1 game, need some help
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 12:57:48 pm »
If you have a vintage rip it might be in an odd format (though iso technically existed many companies were still trying to make their own format to corner the market) meaning you may need a program geared to play with many formats to work (ultraiso, magic iso and possibly the option if you fiddle with imgburn though the preview versions of the commercial programs will usually allow you to pull files from it). I would advise going to normal ISO/making a new rip if you can and porting it back to the old format if you want.

Following that a handful of the PS1 games did use raw DMA reads rather than just the standard iso filesystem, it was far more prevalent in the PS2 but it did happen on the PS1. For these you will usually have to watch an emulator pull things from the disc and direct your hex editor (or other hex manipulating program) according, a handful of fingerprint detection methods exist for some audio formats but not a lot else.

The_Reaper_CooL

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 02:07:52 pm »
Thanks, I've extracted the files, and I can put them back in, but...

There are some errors, like:

1. In one game if I modify the text just a bit (with HEX Editing, so it stays the same size, the character is in the same place...etc), then the game doesn't start