News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch  (Read 34415 times)

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« on: March 06, 2013, 04:28:19 pm »
This existing patch here breaks when you clear a stage or die.  So you can't get past more than 1 stage without the graphic tiles pooping out:



http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/145/

I fixed it:

http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p

I cleared the whole game start to finish.  I don't like the game enough to bother getting it to run on real hardware (it would be too much work to bother with).  But hey, enjoy this fixed patch atleast.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 08:36:38 am by Drakon »

Spikeman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • *unce unce unce*
    • View Profile
    • None at the moment, check out my Last.fm page instead?
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 05:21:50 pm »
I can't find anywhere in ram where it keeps track of the current rombank which is a huge problem with getting it to run on real hardware.

It stores this at 0xA24E ;)

Might be some more useful info here: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2046&start=140
Open Source Hacking Projects: Guru Logic Champ, Telefang 2, (Want more? Check out my GitHub!)

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2013, 05:29:12 pm »
As I feared....0a24e doesn't always update.  Anyway I just reprogrammed the rom so it runs on a mbc5 memory bank controller.

Spikeman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • *unce unce unce*
    • View Profile
    • None at the moment, check out my Last.fm page instead?
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2013, 05:34:38 pm »
As far as I know the only times it doesn't update are during the vblank handler. And in normal play it the Vblank handler shouldn't occur again within the original handler. However, the unmodified game already has a glitch were if there are too many objects on the screen the vblank handler can occur again inside a vblank handler call, and cause a crash. So, I can forsee issues with adding a waitloop if the code takes too long in the vblank handler. We may have to do some modification of the original code to fix that bug.
Open Source Hacking Projects: Guru Logic Champ, Telefang 2, (Want more? Check out my GitHub!)

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2013, 06:41:14 pm »
I can't do anything with this game until some of the code in bank 0 is relocated, that sort of job is above me so I'll have to wait for you to get some free time haha.  I managed to convert the original marioland 2 rom to run as a mbc5 game.  Once we get space for bankswitching I'll convert the colour rom for mbc5 which will require replacing a lot of mbc1 bankswitches.  And then....hopefully it'll run on the real thing.

tigrou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2013, 06:47:30 pm »
dont know if it will help you but have a look here : http://magicstone.de/rhwiki/article/Super_Mario_Land_2

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2013, 09:47:38 am »
I cleared the game in full colour.  It looks beautiful but I don't really find it fun enough to bother getting it running on real hardware.  Oh well atleast I made the existing patch actually playable.

MathUser2929

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1544
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2013, 10:24:09 am »
What you've done should at least be uploaded to RHDN. Either as a addendum or as a new version of the existing hack.

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2013, 05:42:26 pm »
I don't know how to submit stuff.  Here's the zip if you want to haha:

http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p

Metroid 2 is ready to go as well:

http://www.mediafire.com/?0h2vy4wbh8ah81b

« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 06:10:10 pm by Drakon »

Da_GPer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2013, 04:52:10 pm »
I noticed that Metroid 2 gives a red background instead of black and Mario Land 2 has all weird colors and messed up graphics, no matter if you used the 1.0, 1.1, or 1.2 ROM.

MathUser2929

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1544
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2013, 01:28:05 am »
I got the same problem on SML2 also.

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2013, 09:34:47 am »
I just downloaded and used the patch it works fine for me.  Not my fault they don't let me dicuss or post here either roms or where to get them.

B.B.Link

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2013, 04:04:21 pm »
I just downloaded and used the patch it works fine for me.  Not my fault they don't let me dicuss or post here either roms or where to get them.
But you can at least tell us either the full rom name (ex. "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (UE) (V1.0) [!].gb") or if it needs a header or not.

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2013, 07:37:56 pm »
All gameboy roms have a header that's how the gameboy tells if it's gb or gbc.

My rom is "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (USA, Europe).gb"

Da_GPer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2013, 02:57:37 am »
All gameboy roms have a header that's how the gameboy tells if it's gb or gbc.

My rom is "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (USA, Europe).gb"

I searched for that exact file, and after downloading and patching it, it gave the same messed up colors and graphics that the others did.

Hiei-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2013, 11:21:15 am »
A bit off-topic but a colored version of Zelda would be nice.

I know the DX version is in color but it don't use the full capacity of colors of the GameBoy Color to be retrocompatible with the previous systems so it don't use as much colors that the GameBoy Boy Color games that aren't retrocompatible.

Dwedit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
    • Dwedit's Website
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2013, 11:31:50 am »
Zelda DX definitely used the full palette of colors available, it just didn't use the second bank of VRAM.  You also get different tile graphics depending on whether it is played on a GBC or an original Game Boy.
"We are merely sprites that dance at the beck and call of our button-pressing overlord."

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6892
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2013, 03:00:04 pm »
It must've used the extra bank in the Color Dungeon, though.
I've seen someone force their way in in monochrome mode in a video. Glitched tiles everywhere, as I remember. :D
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Drakon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • 16 Bit Gamer
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2013, 05:44:35 pm »
I searched for that exact file, and after downloading and patching it, it gave the same messed up colors and graphics that the others did.

What can I say.  I re-downloaded the rom.  Downloaded my patch.  Applied it, loaded it into bgb, it runs fine.

caninis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2013, 06:49:16 pm »
The problem is not a rom-patching issue, it's an emulator issue

Startup bgb and go into options, & choose exceptions
Select "Troubleshoot broken PD roms", and unselect all options relating to emulate as in reality

The patch does not work on a real gameboy, so the emulator must be designed to function accordingly