News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Mega Man X1 - Proto Edition (v1.2 - final release)  (Read 20919 times)

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Mega Man X1 - Proto Edition (v1.2 - final release)
« on: October 19, 2012, 09:36:58 pm »

v1.2 final release

Sorry for posting, but I want to let everyone know that this will be the
last version I post since I was able to add some more features in this hack.

And again, I decided to call this version "Proto Edition" if this isn't a problem. 


Previous features:

1.Buster shots are now normal buster shots.

2.Level1 charge is changed into level2 charge shots.

3.Level2 charge is changed into level3 charge shots.

4.Level3 charge is changed into the charged rolling shield weapon.

5.A small life bar. (still the same)

6.Some new dialogue. (updated)

7.New weapon colors. (still the same)

8.All of X’s graphic tiles have been changed with sprites of Protoman. (some of them are edited)

9.Protoman has his own weapon get sprite. (updated)

10.Protoman has his own 1up sprite.

11.Protoman has his own life bar icon.

12.Protoman has his own mugshot. (updated)

13.Protoman shows up in the ending.

14.Charge shot palettes are different.

15.Dash length is short.

16.You can only access 3 upgrade enhancements.


New features:

17.Changed X.Buster to P.Buster.

18.New title screen.

19.Protoman's name appears on the stage select screen.

20.You can no longer charge special weapons with the buster
upgrade.


Additional notes:

. You can no longer get the buster upgrade from Zero, but you'll
still perform the charging animation(This even happens when you
already have the upgrade as well)

. If you entered a password to continue from where you left off,
the game would load the original length of the life bar. This has
been fixed.

. The subtanks appear red in the menu(this was done so they would
match the color of the subtanks that are hidden in some of the stages. 

New screen shots:












Here is the link new patch:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/9h5r71b1e67syj5/MegaMan_X1_Proto_Edition_V1_2.zip

Like before, you're gonna need this: Mega Man X (U) (V1.1).smc
And make sure it has a header on it.   

« Last Edit: September 10, 2017, 04:06:49 am by xstuff »

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 07:23:02 pm »
Aaaaaaaaand you forgot to mention to require unheader too.  I test header and it wont work.  So I remove the header and it work.  So please edit your post to add Unheader.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Zynk

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • Quest of Lala (Complete)
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2012, 02:54:50 am »
Aaaaaaaaand you forgot to mention to require unheader too.  I test header and it wont work.  So I remove the header and it work.  So please edit your post to add Unheader.


This. My zsnes went bonkers when I tried it; then unheadered it and worked. I played thru like a juggernaut!  :laugh:



Btw, are you going to edit him some more, like adding super armor or giving him his shield? Also, could I suggest making his scarf a little more animated esp. when running?


And pardon me, but you missed fixing Protoman's head when climbing ladders. :huh:


Anyways, keep it up!  :happy:

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2012, 01:57:40 pm »
Aaaaaaaaand you forgot to mention to require unheader too.  I test header and it wont work.  So I remove the header and it work.  So please edit your post to add Unheader.

Sorry about that, i didn't think it was necessary sense i tired it myself,
and it worked fine i should of mention the unheader part.  :-[

Btw, are you going to edit him some more, like adding super armor or giving him his shield? Also, could I suggest making his scarf a little more animated esp. when running?

I don't think i can, do to the tile gridlines, and all i could do
was make a scarf and no shield, and i didn't think about
making any armor parts cause i couldn't think of a
design. But if i did i would need to edit all of the
tile graphics again.   

And pardon me, but you missed fixing Protoman's head when climbing ladders. :huh:

I notice that when i was playing it
i'll fix it up. :) 

« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 04:53:10 am by xstuff »

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2012, 08:24:10 pm »
 :laugh:  It ok, Xstuff.  And here is my lp of your hack.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

mrrichard999

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
  • So Goooood! :D
    • View Profile
    • GameFAQS Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2013, 12:51:35 am »
Is there a patch for this?
:woot!: Seeking translators for some small project work!
8x8 Icons

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2013, 04:43:08 am »
Is there a patch for this?

I updated the link.

treos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2014, 04:26:56 pm »
sorry for necro posting but i just saw this on the front page and was going to try it out but theres 1 problem: this hack does absolutely nothing to the game as far as i can tell. i downloaded the patch here and used it on a Mega Man X (U) (V1.0) [!] rom only for nothing to change (aside from a easily fixd bad checksum). X looks normal, no change in the stage(s) or anything.

Scio

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2014, 04:33:55 pm »
Did you use it on an unheadered ROM?

You can use this to remove the header: http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/593/

azoreseuropa

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2014, 05:25:10 pm »
What's wrong with the header ? What's the difference between header and unheadered ??

Scio

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2014, 05:38:35 pm »
What's wrong with the header ? What's the difference between header and unheadered ??
Most of the dumps of SNES ROMs contain a SMC header (512 bytes), which is just data from the device that copied the cartridge. It's useless for everything else, and this space isn't even accounted for in the game itself. You can delete it without any regrets. For romhacks though, you have to take this into account - that is why most of the patches require a headerless room (a IPS patch doesn't differentiate one from the other).

http://romhack.wikia.com/wiki/SMC_header


azoreseuropa

  • Restricted Access
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2014, 05:52:28 pm »
Most of the dumps of SNES ROMs contain a SMC header (512 bytes), which is just data from the device that copied the cartridge. It's useless for everything else, and this space isn't even accounted for in the game itself. You can delete it without any regrets. For romhacks though, you have to take this into account - that is why most of the patches require a headerless room (a IPS patch doesn't differentiate one from the other).

http://romhack.wikia.com/wiki/SMC_header

Ahh, that makes sense. Thanks.

treos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2014, 07:57:19 pm »
tried using that uitility and the rom i used doesn't have a header.

Scio

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2014, 08:50:09 pm »
You're right, it doesn't have a header. I tested here, and it worked. The ROM I used was "Megaman X (USA)". Try looking for that one.

ItsRainingGravy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2014, 06:10:47 am »
This is a very fun hack, and I hope that the creator continues to release updates on this patch. Though I also hope that in future releases, Protoman's buster is toned down in terms of power. My ideal changes are as follows:

1) Buster Shots are the same

2) Level 1 Charged Shots are the same

3) Level 2 Charged Shots are now the charged Rolling Shield weapon.

4) Level 3 Charged Shots are the same

Thank you for making this awesome hack. Your spriting of Protoman in particular is fantastic. Hopefully the buster is toned down a bit in the next patch, though. :P


EDIT: I changed what I feel as though would be "best" for Protoman's Buster, based on how much damage each attack does to the enemies in the game.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 04:35:10 pm by ItsRainingGravy »

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2014, 07:05:17 pm »
This is a very fun hack, and I hope that the creator continues to release updates on this patch. Though I also hope that in future releases, Protoman's buster is toned down in terms of power. My ideal changes are as follows:

1) Buster Shots are changed to Level 1 Charged Shots (the green ones). If possible, make it to where Protoman can only fire up to two of these at a time. The reason for this is in that Mega Man 9 and 10, one difference between Megaman and Protoman is that Protoman can only have 2 shots on the screen at a time, while Megaman can have up to 3.

2) Level 1 Charged Shots is changed to Level 2 Charged Shots.

3) Level 2 Charged Shots is changed to Level 3 Charged Shots.

4) Level 3 Charged Shots is changed to Charged Rolling Shield weapon. Unlike the regular charged Rolling Shield, Protoman is still currently able to fire while this shield is up, making it more effective than the actual rolling shield. This is actually very powerful in most circumstances within the game, even against bosses. So having it as a Level 3 Charged Shot would be much better for it.

5) Charged Chameleon Sting weapon is removed from Protoman's normal buster, as it allows him to pretty much beat the game effortlessly. For me, beating any game effortlessly isn't a very fun experience.

Thank you for making this awesome hack. Your spriting of Protoman in particular is fantastic. Hopefully the buster is toned down a bit in the next patch, though. :P

I actually done that back in October of last year, while I was working on it some more.
I had to change that because I read some comments on a let's play video of my hack on
Youtube with people saying "he's overpowered, the hack isn't fun, it's too easy, and not challenging". I hated that >:(

Also, someone is making there own version of Protoman 21XX.
So I'm planning on changing the name of my hack in the next update.

I wish I knew how to reduce the max number of Buster Shots that Protoman can fire on screen.
If I knew how, I could change it.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 07:27:54 pm by xstuff »

Zynk

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • Quest of Lala (Complete)
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2014, 09:10:50 pm »
Also, someone is making there own version of Protoman 21XX.
So I'm planning on changing the name of my hack in the next update.
Looking at their FB account, they have pics of your hack. Maybe they took it for inspiration?  :huh:
Maybe make the title as 'Protoman X'; you just need to change the 'MEGA' on the titlescreen.

ItsRainingGravy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2014, 06:50:16 pm »
I actually done that back in October of last year, while I was working on it some more.
I had to change that because I read some comments on a let's play video of my hack on
Youtube with people saying "he's overpowered, the hack isn't fun, it's too easy, and not challenging". I hated that >:(

Also, someone is making there own version of Protoman 21XX.
So I'm planning on changing the name of my hack in the next update.

I wish I knew how to reduce the max number of Buster Shots that Protoman can fire on screen.
If I knew how, I could change it.
Ah, alright. Glad to know that you are still working on this! This has been one of my favorite hacks in a while. :)

And yeah, I noticed the Protoman 21XX that someone else was making on FB. I agree with Zynk for changing the title to "Protoman X". Simple, yet effective.

And ah, I see. If you are unable to change the amount of shots that can be fired on screen, that's fine. It's not so much of an issue rather than a lore kind of thing, so it's not especially necessary. :P The biggest issue was the amount of damage Protoman did, so I am really glad that you changed that! I can't wait to play the updated patch!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 03:54:50 pm by ItsRainingGravy »

odditude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2014, 08:01:27 am »
doubling damage taken would also do wonders for balance (and would be consistent with how protoman was nerfed in 9 and 10). in addition, you could make it so the armor upgrade only reduces knockback without reducing damage.

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: ProtoMan 21XX a MegaMan X1 Hack
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2014, 06:45:44 pm »
doubling damage taken would also do wonders for balance (and would be consistent with how protoman was nerfed in 9 and 10). in addition, you could make it so the armor upgrade only reduces knockback without reducing damage.

I actually blocked the path to the armor capsule, when I was working on it a few month's ago.
Sense I didn't know how to remove it completely.

I could edit the armor attachment to reduce knockback, If I knew how, but the only thing I could do
was block the path to it.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2015, 01:32:32 am by xstuff »