News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Supreme Mario Bros. 2  (Read 24640 times)

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« on: August 02, 2012, 11:11:08 am »
I've been working on this hack for a while now. It's a hack of Super Mario Bros. 3. Don't worry, I won't make dead ends or trick pipes on this one. This hack will replace most, maybe all graphics, make tile arrangement changes, even ones that aren't possible with DahrkDaiz's SMB3 TSA editor, have level design and level order changes, and hopefully more. I've completed all of the first world and most of the second. Here are some screenshots of what I've done so far:

There are more changes than the ones I've shown, but to be honest, I'm to lazy to take screenshots of them :P. So, whaddya think? Should I work on it more, or drop the project?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2012, 11:36:23 am by LooneyDude »
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2012, 11:53:16 am »
Please don't drop it.  This look awesome and nice Super Mario sprite.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2012, 01:49:12 pm »
Please don't drop it.  This look awesome and nice Super Mario sprite.
Thanks! That means alot, since I've spent a long time on the computer working on this :).
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

locolol

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • That penguin sure looks pissed.
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2012, 11:53:59 pm »
Looks great :) !! keep up your good work,LooneyDude n.n

kuja killer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2012, 12:53:40 am »
I think the keyhole on world 1 should go right next to the gold-color mushroom house

 cause being in front of the castle is totally pointless..

Googie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • eeee!
    • View Profile
    • My work in progress ROM Hacking site
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2012, 07:44:30 pm »
I dig the way this hack looks, I say keep working on it. Oh yeah & what Kuja Killer said... 

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2012, 10:17:49 am »
Thanks! That means alot, since I've spent a long time on the computer working on this :).

Hee hee.  You are welcome.  I can't wait when you release and start play that hack.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2012, 11:54:57 am »
I think the keyhole on world 1 should go right next to the gold-color mushroom house

 cause being in front of the castle is totally pointless..
I dig the way this hack looks, I say keep working on it. Oh yeah & what Kuja Killer said... 

I did what you guys said. Also, I've spruced the graphics up a little.

If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

Celice

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 620
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2012, 08:03:24 pm »
Looks neat :) Heh, the top of the castle reminds me of a Magikoopa, or some mage from a Final Fantasy game :p

Sam Atoms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2012, 02:33:47 am »
DO IT!

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2012, 12:10:01 pm »
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2012, 07:49:39 am »
Oh this is amazing!   I love it!  Keep it up, dude.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Valkyrie_Ace

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2012, 06:46:32 am »
Wow, that Mario sprite shown in the video is the best I've ever seen in an NES game.  I so want to play this.

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2012, 01:15:54 pm »
Here are some things I've done:

•Changed Boom Boom's sprites:


•Completed changing Areas 1 and 2.

•Changed more sprites, backgrounds, ect. (Too lazy to get pictures :P).

•Changed the first level of Area 3 (a snow world), and some of it's map:

(I know, Areas 3-4 and 3-5 are mixed up).


But, speaking of Area 3, I can't get the map to fully animate, it'll only play the first two frames. Does anyone know how to fix this. If you have a solution, PLEASE tell me!
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

Googie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • eeee!
    • View Profile
    • My work in progress ROM Hacking site
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2012, 01:29:40 am »
I like your recent screens, it almost looks like a flash cartoon to me. Something tells me that this hack is gonna be a funny trip to go through.  ;D

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2012, 10:14:17 am »
I like your recent screens, it almost looks like a flash cartoon to me. Something tells me that this hack is gonna be a funny trip to go through.  ;D
I even added a joke in the game!
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

Mirby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • The Power's in the Pins
    • View Profile
    • Mirby Studios
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2012, 07:51:04 am »
This is lookin' pretty awesome so far! I'm excited. :D

z-byte

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Initializing...
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2012, 06:00:42 pm »

(I know, Areas 3-4 and 3-5 are mixed up).


But, speaking of Area 3, I can't get the map to fully animate, it'll only play the first two frames. Does anyone know how to fix this. If you have a solution, PLEASE tell me!

Your graphics are superb! That's much better than what I could (and, for the moment, know how to) do. Your map animations are amaing as well. The original Super Mario Bros. 3 had some code that would activate and deactivate drawbridges if Mario was roaming in World 3, so it would split the number of frames in half so that the drawbridges would display as down or up. To alter this, open up a hex editor and look at 0x017C60:

Code: [Select]
     CPX #$02
     BNE $BC5D
     AND #$01

The game loads Mario's current Area number and will compare it to 0x017C61, which is 02 (Area numbers start at 0). You can simply modify 0x017C61 to whatever Area number you want (minus 1) to activate the drawbridge animation style for that Area, or you could even make it a random number if you don't want a world like that at all. This is around the same area where the game checks if Mario is at Area 5, so if you'd like to alter that at 0x017C39:

Code: [Select]
     LDX $0727
     CPX #04
     BNE $BC34

Thanks for posting. Best of luck with your new SMB3 hack! Keep up all the good work!  :thumbsup:

LooneyDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2012, 08:29:52 am »
Your graphics are superb! That's much better than what I could (and, for the moment, know how to) do. Your map animations are amaing as well. The original Super Mario Bros. 3 had some code that would activate and deactivate drawbridges if Mario was roaming in World 3, so it would split the number of frames in half so that the drawbridges would display as down or up. To alter this, open up a hex editor and look at 0x017C60:

Code: [Select]
     CPX #$02
     BNE $BC5D
     AND #$01

The game loads Mario's current Area number and will compare it to 0x017C61, which is 02 (Area numbers start at 0). You can simply modify 0x017C61 to whatever Area number you want (minus 1) to activate the drawbridge animation style for that Area, or you could even make it a random number if you don't want a world like that at all. This is around the same area where the game checks if Mario is at Area 5, so if you'd like to alter that at 0x017C39:

Code: [Select]
     LDX $0727
     CPX #04
     BNE $BC34

Thanks for posting. Best of luck with your new SMB3 hack! Keep up all the good work!  :thumbsup:

Woah, thanks! It works! I don't think I can thank you enough.

September 09, 2012, 02:22:08 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Sorry I haven't been posting updates lately, but now, the wait for one is over!

• Moved Area 3 to Area 4, and made Area 3 a desert land.


• Made a placeover ending with a new font and custom Peach sprites.


• Modified the title screen.


• Worked on the levels.

That's about it. Oh, wait! One more thing:


Me and Princess Peach both know bad music when we hear it!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2012, 02:22:08 pm by LooneyDude »
If you own any prototype versions of Super Mario 64...
GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!

xttx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Supreme Mario Bros. 2
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2012, 11:31:52 pm »
any news on this one? Ive been watching this topic for a while.  :D