News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?  (Read 19986 times)

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2012, 06:35:37 pm »
OK, this just clicked for me... this isn't really a speed hack, it's more like a step distance hack. The FF values for left and down make a lot more sense all of a sudden. They're using it as a signed number so instead of 0-255 they're -128 to +128 making FF=-1 and FE=-2.

OK, maybe that's not entirely the case... when I changed 4E4D from FF to 01 it scrolls the screen up one. Ah-ha, small breakthrough now... don't look at this as bits, they're bytes:

00FF = Left
0100 = Right
0001 = Up
FF00 = Down

So what I just did was change left (00FF) to up (0001). Now it's making sense. Sure enough, changing one of them to 01FF causes the characters to move diagonally. It looks really cool except for the part where you walk through walls.

Anyway, any part where the game moves the characters automatically (there are a few) would get tripped-up badly by this. I wonder if there will be some spots where the collision detection gets funky too? I also wonder what will happen when you acquire the vehicles...

I'll have to poke around with these some more before adding them to Aridia unless I put label them "experimental" in the UI. There are a couple other "experimental" things I've found in the game that I group together for people who want to try out crazy stuff.

Klaviaturist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • Midnight Sunrise Band
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #21 on: July 26, 2012, 07:04:56 pm »
OK, this just clicked for me... this isn't really a speed hack, it's more like a step distance hack. The FF values for left and down make a lot more sense all of a sudden. They're using it as a signed number so instead of 0-255 they're -128 to +128 making FF=-1 and FE=-2.

OK, maybe that's not entirely the case... when I changed 4E4D from FF to 01 it scrolls the screen up one. Ah-ha, small breakthrough now... don't look at this as bits, they're bytes:

00FF = Left
0100 = Right
0001 = Up
FF00 = Down

So what I just did was change left (00FF) to up (0001). Now it's making sense. Sure enough, changing one of them to 01FF causes the characters to move diagonally. It looks really cool except for the part where you walk through walls.

Anyway, any part where the game moves the characters automatically (there are a few) would get tripped-up badly by this. I wonder if there will be some spots where the collision detection gets funky too? I also wonder what will happen when you acquire the vehicles...

I'll have to poke around with these some more before adding them to Aridia unless I put label them "experimental" in the UI. There are a couple other "experimental" things I've found in the game that I group together for people who want to try out crazy stuff.

I haven't gotten a chance to turn Wren into a vehicle yet, but early in the game, when the ship takes you automatically to the island cave, everything moved as it should. When I get Wren turned into the vehicle I will let you know what happens. Should be later tonight.
Just a guy that likes horror flicks.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #22 on: July 26, 2012, 07:30:49 pm »
Still haven't figured out a way to fix the problem when the CPU takes over your character.  As hugues mentioned, may have to label the codes as "experimental".

And what's this about a vehicle?  I've never played the game before.  Let me know what happens with that.
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

Klaviaturist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • Midnight Sunrise Band
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #23 on: July 26, 2012, 07:35:35 pm »
Still haven't figured out a way to fix the problem when the CPU takes over your character.  As hugues mentioned, may have to label the codes as "experimental".

And what's this about a vehicle?  I've never played the game before.  Let me know what happens with that.

About halfway through the game a robotic character called Wren transforms into some sort of a flying hovercraft. I am more than a quarter of the way through the game, so it won't take me long to get to this point. Should be a few hours. Will post when I get there and let you know what happens.
Just a guy that likes horror flicks.

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #24 on: July 26, 2012, 07:42:29 pm »
About halfway through the game a robotic character called Wren transforms into some sort of a flying hovercraft.
There are two vehicles you can control -- in the airplane mode you move very quickly but can't enter any towns. There's also a boat mode that doesn't move quite as fast but is still faster than normal walking.

Perhaps seeing how those are implemented would give an idea of how to increase the speed without introducing wacky side-effects. I wonder if they're in a nearby location in the ROM...

July 26, 2012, 08:42:20 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
You know what... I should really read my own PSIII save state hacking guide (http://ps3.huguesjohnson.com/hacking.html#PartyLocation) before burning calories on this.

In PSIII there are separate values for the party sprite location and their actual map location:
Party physical x-location: E480-E481
Party physical y-location: E482-E483
Party sprite x-location: E500-E501
Party sprite y-location: E502-E503

Those need to remain synchronized or else bad things happen. If you put watchers on those addresses then you'll get a better idea of what these changes are doing.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 08:42:20 pm by hugues »

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #25 on: July 26, 2012, 09:08:09 pm »
Thanks for the info hugues.  Will look into it.

Found some funny codes while looking around in my trace file...

PZGA-BJYW
Your character's "step rate" is twice as fast.  (He travels the same speed, but his legs move faster).  Visually, this code should make the 2x walking codes look more realistic.

PZGA-BNYW
Your character's "step rate" is three times faster.

AKGA-AA6W
Your character "floats" when he walks (doesn't step at all).


July 27, 2012, 12:00:39 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I sort of found a partial fix for the problem.  I made a 'Walk thru walls' code so you can't get stuck.  I tried it when I met my bride, and was able to continue the game without getting stuck, but still not a very good solution.  Although, the walk thru walls code itself is pretty fun.  Don't know if it will work with the vehicles.

RFZA-A6YY
Walk thru walls.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 12:00:39 am by Tony H »
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

Klaviaturist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • Midnight Sunrise Band
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #26 on: July 27, 2012, 12:21:03 am »
Finally just got Wren to turn into the "airplane" and that seems perfectly fine. Matter of fact, with the "walk 2x fast" codes you actually walk faster than the airplane. I would say by about 1x because the airplane is still faster than walking without the 2x codes. It's been a while since I have played the game though and I seem to remember the airplane moving much faster.

July 27, 2012, 10:34:02 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I just played through the entire game with the codes on and just wanted to pop in a few notes. There is no question the codes should, at the moment, be listed as "experimental". There were many times when I would have to turn the codes off to go down a certain hallway to avoid getting caught in a glitch. As well, sometimes when you exit a town, the placement on the world map may screw you as sometimes you won't be able to enter a cave or bridge. Of course, all of this is easily avoided by simply turning the codes off.

Nevertheless, I have never completed the game within 2 days (night playing). So the codes obviously help to speed the game up, and that's the point. 
« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 10:34:02 am by Klaviaturist »
Just a guy that likes horror flicks.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2012, 02:13:58 pm »
No luck on the 2x walking problem.  Klaviaturist, thanks for all the notes while testing the codes.  I'm going to put the codes on my site, but with a warning.

Since I'm working on Phantasy Star 3, I've decided to make some more Game Genie codes.


A4AA-CA2Y
Open treasure chests as many times as you want (you can keep getting an item or
money over and over).


NCAA-CCF4
Get the Ceramic Knife (instead of the regular Knife) in the left chest in the
Landen dungeon.  Code must be turned on before you're escorted into the dungeon.


YCAA-CAF4
Get the Steel Sword (instead of the Knife) in the left chest in the Landen
dungeon.  Code must be turned on before you're escorted into the dungeon.


ECAA-CCF4
Get the Nei Sword (instead of the Knife) in the left chest in the Landen dungeon.
Code must be turned on before you're escorted into the dungeon.


hugues, I also have the ROM address so you can change what you get from the Right chest if you want it.  I didn't make any GG codes for it because it looks like the Monitor is a required item, and I'm not sure if you can get it anywhere else or not.

Also, the "Walk thru walls" code might be a good addition to your program.  It doesn't appear to have any unwanted side effects (although not thoroughly tested), and can be turned on or off at anytime during the game.

=============================

Below is the ROM address for changing the character's carrying capacity.  I tried increasing it to 20 items (normally, you can only carry 15 items), and it does work, but there are problems that will need to be fixed.  I used the "Open chests as many times as you want" code and was able to carry 20 items.  When I go to the "items" screen, I couldn't directly see them, but I could select them and it gave me the option to Use, Give, or Discard. 

One problem is that the addresses in RAM that it uses for the extra items, are most likely the RAM addresses for your next character's items.  This will cause problems with that character, but I was reading (on Gamefaqs) that you can do a "Solo" quest.  In that case, it may not matter if your other character's items are messed up.

Also, you can make it so that your character can carry less items to make the game more challenging.  There would probably be no problems with this type of hack.

One other note, I've only tested the modification when getting items from chests.  I don't know yet if shops use the same routine when you get items.

Anyways, here's the ROM address for carrying capacity:  $01804A.  The value there is 001E.  1E = 30 in decimal.  Each item counts as 2, so 15 x 2 = 30.  If you want to carry 20 items, 20 x 2 = 40, 40 converted to hex = 28.  Change the 001E to 0028 in the ROM.

Again, some things need to be worked out, but maybe someone can spend some time figuring it out.
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2012, 08:33:38 pm »
hugues, I also have the ROM address so you can change what you get from the Right chest if you want it.  I didn't make any GG codes for it because it looks like the Monitor is a required item, and I'm not sure if you can get it anywhere else or not.
Yeah that would be great - thanks!

Below is the ROM address for changing the character's carrying capacity.  I tried increasing it to 20 items (normally, you can only carry 15 items), and it does work, but there are problems that will need to be fixed.  [...] One problem is that the addresses in RAM that it uses for the extra items, are most likely the RAM addresses for your next character's items.
This is something I encountered early on when writing Aridia. The extra items overflow into their statistics with techniques being the first area impacted. You end up with characters having absurdly powerful techniques followed by absurdly powerful attack and so on. It's similar to the "pron glitch" with the Nei items.

Anyways, here's the ROM address for carrying capacity:  $01804A.  The value there is 001E.  1E = 30 in decimal.  Each item counts as 2, so 15 x 2 = 30.  If you want to carry 20 items, 20 x 2 = 40, 40 converted to hex = 28.  Change the 001E to 0028 in the ROM. Again, some things need to be worked out, but maybe someone can spend some time figuring it out.
If it's any help, all my notes on item editing are here http://ps3.huguesjohnson.com/hacking.html - this is all save state editing. You'll notice a very similar observation about inventory size :)

I haven't taken the time to document how item & shop editing work in the ROM but if you can read C# code minimally it's not difficult to see how it all works in the source for Aridia.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2012, 10:18:51 pm »
Thanks for the link.  Good info in there.

Here's the ROM address for what's in the right chest in the dungeon: $00180C0.  The normal value there is 0070 (monitor).  Example: change it to 0060 and you'll get an Escapipe instead.

More Game Genie codes.  All these codes use the empty space in the shop's inventory, so they have 5 items for sale, instead of 4.

CS1A-G40C
Adds the Royal Helmet to the items for sale in the armor shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


CS1A-G28C
Adds the Planar Armor to the items for sale in the armor shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


CS1A-HFGC
Adds the Royal Shield to the items for sale in the armor shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.



DM1A-G0RG
Adds the Royal Knife to the items for sale in the Weapon Shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


CH1A-G0RG
Adds Orakio's Sword to the items for sale in the Weapon Shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


G11A-G0RG
Adds the Nei Claw to the items for sale in the Weapon Shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


JS1A-G0RG
Adds the Pulse Cannon to the items for sale in the Weapon Shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.


J91A-G0RG
Adds the Nei Shot to the items for sale in the Weapon Shop in Landen.  Code
must be turned on before you go into the shop.



July 28, 2012, 10:48:29 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Hughes, did you find the offset that determines if an item affects one member, or all members?  ie, Monomate only heals one character, but Star Mist heals the entire party.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2012, 10:48:29 pm by Tony H »
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #30 on: July 29, 2012, 06:45:34 pm »

July 28, 2012, 10:48:29 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Hughes, did you find the offset that determines if an item affects one member, or all members?  ie, Monomate only heals one character, but Star Mist heals the entire party.
Yes, each item has a code that determines what technique it casts and what the power of that technique is - i.e monomate casts res with a power of 6 while trimate casts it with a power of 99. Star Mist casts gires with a power of 99.

The items all start at address 231280 (decimal) in the ROM. The first byte is the cost followed by the technique then the technique power.

Sorry if it sounds like a blatant plug but go play around with Aridia (http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/505/) for a bit, you might save yourself a bunch of time ;)

Some day when I'm extremely bored I'll write a doc explaining where everything is in the ROM. Until I do that the code is relatively self-documenting.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #31 on: July 29, 2012, 09:30:42 pm »
Thanks for the info.  Have downloaded Aridia.  Excellent program.
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #32 on: August 04, 2012, 09:05:57 am »
Here's the ROM address for what's in the right chest in the dungeon: $00180C0.  The normal value there is 0070 (monitor).  Example: change it to 0060 and you'll get an Escapipe instead.
Thanks again - based on this I *think* I've tracked down the location of every treasure chest in the ROM now. It took some digging but they appear to all be buried somewhere between 180C0 and 1A310. I just have to go through the painfully boring task of checking each one. I'll throw all the addresses into a spreadsheet or on my site or something. I should have all of them in Aridia later this month unless I get distracted by a shiny object.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2012, 12:23:00 pm »
Checking every treasure chest in the game?  Make sure you bring a sleeping bag, and plenty of food and water. :-)

August 05, 2012, 10:20:17 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Hughes, I think I found the data in the ROM for all the Techniques, as well as the data for the enemy Techniques (including Poison).  Do you have any of that info in Aridia? (I didn't see it).  If it's not in Aridia, let me know and I'll look into it some more. 
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 10:20:17 pm by Tony H »
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

hugues

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My homepage
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #34 on: August 07, 2012, 06:10:38 pm »
Hughes, I think I found the data in the ROM for all the Techniques, as well as the data for the enemy Techniques (including Poison).  Do you have any of that info in Aridia? (I didn't see it).  If it's not in Aridia, let me know and I'll look into it some more.
The techniques are under the character and enemy tabs. The enemies each have a different tech code, tech power, and cast % value. For characters it's a little different, they are are assigned powers in each of the 4 technique groups. Giving characters individual techniques instead of an entire group causes the game to crash when you go into the status menu. It's a bit limited that way.

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #35 on: August 11, 2012, 02:19:46 pm »
hugues, I need a Gens save state for Phantasy Star 3 to test some GG codes, and I noticed you have several.  I'll want to test Res and Foi techniques.  Which of your save states would be good for that?

EDIT: I'll need to test those techniques to see if my GG codes make them work on multiple characters/enemies.

TIA

August 12, 2012, 11:41:44 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Never mind hugues, figured out that a Sean save state is good for testing Foi, and Ayn is good for Res testing.


BLDT-GAD6
Monomate works on everyone in your party (instead of just one character).  Can be used with 98DT-GG58 code below.


98DT-GG58
Monomate restores all HP.  Can be used with BLDT-GAD6 code above.


AWNA-GB12
Res works on everyone in your party (instead of just one character).  Only works in battle.


CCNA-GAZ2
Foi works on all enemies (instead of just one).
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 11:41:44 am by Tony H »
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

Tony H

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • The Code Hut
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #36 on: August 19, 2012, 03:16:30 pm »
For those playing Phantasy Star 3 that want all the power, but don't want to wait for it...

RH0T-A60J
Max out all your stats after one battle.  Any character that gets at least one
XP point during battle, will go to level 41, and have all their stats maxed out.
Has only been tested on Rhys so far.

====================

Info: There is some programming/code in the game that compares the amount of XP (experience points) you have, with the maximum value allowed (99,999,999).  If your XP is going to be greater than the maximum allowed, then the game loads a value of 99,999,999 instead.  Changing a conditional branch (with the Game Genie code) will make it always give you 99,999,999 XP, which maxes out your stats.
The Code Hut: http://codehut.gshi.org/

Game Genie codes and ROM hacking guides

gliitch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #37 on: November 12, 2013, 10:45:26 am »
I've found an easier way to get around the problem where the CPU takes over Rhys(after you've edited the ROM file, to allow a faster walking speed.), what you can do is edit the event where you'd normally have Lena free you in the dungeon. Instead what you can do is edit this event to be true the address would be E37E. Set that to true, save & then reload your file. Go into a building if necessary, the old man blocking the exit will disappear.

Also I've found that if you make edits like being able to use Wren's Aerojet parts, or Laya's Pendant, then use the Inn to save your game. Then delete the GS0 file, load the SRM your edits will still work  ;D
Also if you use a Retrode II you could copy this edited SRM file to the cart & play it on the Megadrive itself.

Tony, if you would be so kind as to tell me the offset in which sets "No enemies attack" & "No MP/HP lost to enemy attacks" are?
Thanks.

   

tryphon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #38 on: November 12, 2013, 12:13:04 pm »
For the original question, I've just made a patch that doubles the speed and allows diagonal movements. Available from here (second post).

I've played the half of the first generation with no problem.

gliitch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: A Possible Hack For Phantasy Star 3?
« Reply #39 on: November 12, 2013, 04:45:01 pm »
For the original question, I've just made a patch that doubles the speed and allows diagonal movements. Available from here (second post).

I've played the half of the first generation with no problem.

Thanks for this patch Typhon, comes in very handy. It does indeed move like the remakes, also makes for more enjoyable game play. Will play about with it some more. :D if you're interested you can try this: http://www.tortuga-cove.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=113&t=5672

Its my take on Wacky Adventures Of Rhys, to see who could complete it with the first gen party. I had first heard about this from Hugues's website & so I thought I'd try my hand at it. I've only just recently stumbled upon this website so i decided to add the Increased walking speed part.

Is it ok if I use your file, in my tutorial instead of Tony's edit? It would be alot easier for others to do. Also it solves the issue of getting stuck. I've noticed that Rhys walks alot smoother in Tony's hack, although youre's looks more natural i wonder why that is. :) Great work to all none the less.   
« Last Edit: November 12, 2013, 05:04:34 pm by gliitch »