News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Help required with SMW1 ROM  (Read 2954 times)

Hrith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Help required with SMW1 ROM
« on: January 09, 2012, 01:39:25 pm »
Hello,

I cannot get the Super Mario World 1 hack Panic in the Mushroom Kingdom 2 to work with ZSNES.

I have tried headered and unheadered ROMS, obviously, both from downloads or from adding/removing the header myself with NSRT; to no avail.
I'm not sure whether there are different versions of the (U) ROM.

Well, if someone could check the problem or host the right ROM for this hack, I'd appreciate it.

luigisantheman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Help required with SMW1 ROM
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 09:38:04 pm »
Run your rom through this: http://www.smwcentral.net/online/clean/

Hrith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Help required with SMW1 ROM
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 04:59:51 pm »
That did help me find a clean ROM, thank you for that, but the IPS still does not work with either headered and unheadered version of the clean SWM ROM.

Is it because of ZSNES?
Should I patch the SMC file instead of simply having the IPS file and the unpatched SMC file in the same folder?

This is the first time I have encountered a problem with an IPS file, ever.

insectduel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
    • Insectduel's Domain
Re: Help required with SMW1 ROM
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 12:21:48 pm »
I think PITMK2 is only compatable with the Snes9X emulator for some odd reason.
Please do not send me RHDN's private messages to contact me, you must use Facebook and I'll be able to reply to you quickly. I AM NOT AN ACTIVE RHDN MEMBER!

Deathlike2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
    • View Profile
Re: Help required with SMW1 ROM
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2012, 12:11:52 pm »
It works if you hard patch it. You will need to have a header on the ROM to patch it.

The issue is somewhat ZSNES related. The patch expect the game to have a header, and part of the patching process removes the header. ZSNES IIRC chops off the header internally, prior to patching. This causes any patch that removes a header to fail outright... because it will attempt to "remove" the header again, making the ROM unplayable.
FF4 Research Continues
Working on the next Yet To Be Named FF4 "Hardtype" Hack