News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: And More Kanji Help  (Read 4366 times)

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
And More Kanji Help
« on: October 04, 2011, 11:28:01 am »
I spent a while poking at these, and now I'm not so much interested in exactly what this means as I am in exactly how one can successfully look up the characters (and why I have so completely failed to do so  >:().  How do you count the strokes?  What radicals do you look for?  What would the SKIP codes be?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 11:35:57 am by Jorpho »
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Eien Ni Hen

• You entitled girlfriend!
    • View Profile
    • Desert Bus Translations
Re: And More Kanji Help
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 12:51:40 pm »
I'm not an expert on stroke-counting, but the skip codes for these two kanji are:

3-1-7
1-3-8
Soon the super karate monkey death car would park in my space. But Jimmy has fancy plans... and pants to match. The monkey clown horrible karate round and yummy like cute small baby chick would beat the donkey.

Jorpho

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2011, 12:57:56 pm »
Thank you.  I would have never guessed 3-1-7 ; it looks so much like 2.  Why is that?

(Also, why can't I find that L-shape in the 1-stroke radical table...?)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 01:13:27 pm by Jorpho »
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Eien Ni Hen

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 01:30:16 pm »
I have no idea why the "L" shape is counted as 1 stroke instead of 2. My guess is because it's typically written in a single motion.

And the "L" shape isn't a radical. Radicals for the kanji 直 are 十 and 目.