News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Japanese Character Recognition Help.  (Read 5304 times)

3ukalipto

• View Profile
Japanese Character Recognition Help.
« on: March 04, 2011, 01:27:12 am »
Hello and good afternoon to anyone who has entered this thread.

First of all, let me introduce myself, for I am quite new to the ROM hacking scene. My name is Edgar, and I enjoy playing Japanese games too much. Only downside to this is that some of the best Japanese games are only released with the native country in mind.

I became VERY interested in the translation hacking process and was a bit overwhelmed by the time it takes to complete a single translation.
I have no experience at hacking; the past few days I've been studying binary and hexadecimal code. I can tell you I'm no wizard at those two codes, but I've learned the basics already. I'm not good at converting one to another and to decimals or text, but I can do it.

I'm most interested in translating Japanese PS2 ISOs. Yes... too complex for a novice, I know. But hey, it does not cost me much to give a Long and painstaking try, right?

I know it is almost impossible for a person of my experience and background (almost none at hacking) to translate a PS2 ISO from Japanese to English or Spanish ( I also can not understand Japanese, but I've been studying it as well these past few days).

Well; enough of almost functionless preambles...

I'm interested in translating these games ( :-\) :

Kengo 3
Hissatsu Ura-Kagyou
Shinobido Takumi
Kamiwaza
Rurouni Kenshin: Enjou! Kyoto Rinne

...and; one that does not seem out of my reach at the time

David Doulliet Judo (this game is in French, not Japanese... but is a judo game!!!)

I have given a couple of tries at Kengo 3. I am trying to create a table for it; the only issue is that the game is possibly 99% in Japanese.