logo
 drop

Main

Community

Submissions

Help

Author Topic: (Genesis) Find the compressed data and figure out the compression scheme  (Read 9941 times)

GameX

• View Profile
Hello,

I'm new here and I'm not good at ROM Hacking at all.  I did NES ROM Hacking with a tutorial, but it was really boring, I'm not a fan of the NES.
I would like to hack the graphics of a Genesis ROM, Dragon Ball: Buu Yuu Retsuden.  For now, I would like to change the hair color from gold to black.
However, I can't find any graphics in the ROM with Tile Layer Pro - And it's the same for all my others ROM -, I guess they are compressed.
Here's what I'm doing for a test, with TLP, but it changes nothing:
http://download252.mediafire.com/yxj...z4w1dm/tlp.wmv

Somebody told me he was able to help my a bit with this.  Because I can't uncompress, I can't do anything at all (And I can't see any text with Translhexion.  I can't translate.).  He told me if I can locate the compressed data and figure out the compression scheme (He told it's hard for a begginer.  The hardest part.), he could write a decompressor (rip directly from the rom) and compressor (and rom inserter) for me.

So please, how do we locate the compress data, and the compression scheme?  What do I have to do first?  Which tools do I need?

Thanks for your help.  :)

FaustWolf

• View Profile
Looks like your video URL got truncated :(

Two questions:

1. Do you just want to do a palette modification, or do you intend to go further in the future and actually change the shape of the sprites/insert different sprites, etc? Sometimes image data could be compressed but the palette data might be stored separately and uncompressed. You might be able to find and isolate palette data in an uncompressed savestate or RAM dump and then search for it in the ROM, but I'm not sure whether the utilities needed to make that process user-friendly exist for Genesis games.