Romhacking.net

Romhacking => ROM Hacking Discussion => Topic started by: Googie on October 12, 2019, 02:00:46 pm

Title: A little help with a MM1 checkpoint...
Post by: Googie on October 12, 2019, 02:00:46 pm
I've been having this problem with my Mega Man hack for a long time, it's Mega Man in St. Canard. I moved Bombman's first checkpoint by accident and for the life of my I can't fix it. Here's (https://ufile.io/u64ylbar) what the problem looks like, I saw someone on Board 2 having the same problem. So insectduel told this person that you can find the first checkpoint offsets at x1C2E4

Checkpoint 1

.byte $0A,$0A,$0E,$08,$07,$0A
.byte $22,$24,$2F,$1D,$1D,$1D

The thing is, that the offsets are exactly same in my MM1 hack, and I'm stumped. Can someone please gimme a hand on what to do? This is the only bug that's in my hack, I'm sure it's only a couple of bytes to change to fix Bombman's first checkpoint, thanks for any tips, fellas.
Title: Re: A little help with a MM1 checkpoint...
Post by: Cyneprepou4uk on October 12, 2019, 03:30:08 pm
Check for older hack versions, find when this bug appears for the first time. When you do, revert changes from this version to the previous one, one change at a time, until you figure out what is causing it.
Title: Re: A little help with a MM1 checkpoint...
Post by: DarkSamus993 on October 12, 2019, 04:44:03 pm
Using the 'Rock and Roll' MM1 level editor (tools > room order editor), I was able to observe the following:
Code: [Select]
; $1C2E4 = checkpoint 1 'activate' room
0A 0A [0E] 08 07 0A 22 24 2F 1D 1D 1D

; $1C2F0 = checkpoint 2 'activate' room
14 14 [14] 10 14 0F 27 29 2F 21 1C

; $1C2FB = starting room
00 00 [00] 00 00 00 18 18 18 14 18 1E

; $1C307 = checkpoint 1 'respawn' room
0A 0A [0E] 08 07 0A 22 24 2E 1D 1D 1D

; $1C313 = checkpoint 2 'respawn' room
14 14 [14] 10 14 0F 26 28 2E 21 20
The values in braces are for Bomb Man's stage.