Romhacking.net

Romhacking => ROM Hacking Discussion => Topic started by: Drakon on March 06, 2013, 04:28:19 pm

Title: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 06, 2013, 04:28:19 pm
This existing patch here breaks when you clear a stage or die.  So you can't get past more than 1 stage without the graphic tiles pooping out:

(http://imgboot.com/images/Drakon/ml2cshots.jpg)

http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/145/ (http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/145/)

I fixed it:

http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p (http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p)

I cleared the whole game start to finish.  I don't like the game enough to bother getting it to run on real hardware (it would be too much work to bother with).  But hey, enjoy this fixed patch atleast.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: Spikeman on March 06, 2013, 05:21:50 pm
I can't find anywhere in ram where it keeps track of the current rombank which is a huge problem with getting it to run on real hardware.

It stores this at 0xA24E ;)

Might be some more useful info here: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2046&start=140
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: Drakon on March 06, 2013, 05:29:12 pm
As I feared....0a24e doesn't always update.  Anyway I just reprogrammed the rom so it runs on a mbc5 memory bank controller.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: Spikeman on March 06, 2013, 05:34:38 pm
As far as I know the only times it doesn't update are during the vblank handler. And in normal play it the Vblank handler shouldn't occur again within the original handler. However, the unmodified game already has a glitch were if there are too many objects on the screen the vblank handler can occur again inside a vblank handler call, and cause a crash. So, I can forsee issues with adding a waitloop if the code takes too long in the vblank handler. We may have to do some modification of the original code to fix that bug.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: Drakon on March 06, 2013, 06:41:14 pm
I can't do anything with this game until some of the code in bank 0 is relocated, that sort of job is above me so I'll have to wait for you to get some free time haha.  I managed to convert the original marioland 2 rom to run as a mbc5 game.  Once we get space for bankswitching I'll convert the colour rom for mbc5 which will require replacing a lot of mbc1 bankswitches.  And then....hopefully it'll run on the real thing.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: tigrou on March 06, 2013, 06:47:30 pm
dont know if it will help you but have a look here : http://magicstone.de/rhwiki/article/Super_Mario_Land_2 (http://magicstone.de/rhwiki/article/Super_Mario_Land_2)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour WIP Some fixes already applied
Post by: Drakon on March 07, 2013, 09:47:38 am
I cleared the game in full colour.  It looks beautiful but I don't really find it fun enough to bother getting it running on real hardware.  Oh well atleast I made the existing patch actually playable.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on March 07, 2013, 10:24:09 am
What you've done should at least be uploaded to RHDN. Either as a addendum or as a new version of the existing hack.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 07, 2013, 05:42:26 pm
I don't know how to submit stuff.  Here's the zip if you want to haha:

http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p (http://www.mediafire.com/?a9a49q9882iko5p)

Metroid 2 is ready to go as well:

http://www.mediafire.com/?0h2vy4wbh8ah81b (http://www.mediafire.com/?0h2vy4wbh8ah81b)

(http://imgboot.com/images/Drakon/metroid2colourtitle.jpg)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Da_GPer on March 09, 2013, 04:52:10 pm
I noticed that Metroid 2 gives a red background instead of black and Mario Land 2 has all weird colors and messed up graphics, no matter if you used the 1.0, 1.1, or 1.2 ROM.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on March 10, 2013, 01:28:05 am
I got the same problem on SML2 also.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 10, 2013, 09:34:47 am
I just downloaded and used the patch it works fine for me.  Not my fault they don't let me dicuss or post here either roms or where to get them.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: B.B.Link on March 11, 2013, 04:04:21 pm
I just downloaded and used the patch it works fine for me.  Not my fault they don't let me dicuss or post here either roms or where to get them.
But you can at least tell us either the full rom name (ex. "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (UE) (V1.0) [!].gb") or if it needs a header or not.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 11, 2013, 07:37:56 pm
All gameboy roms have a header that's how the gameboy tells if it's gb or gbc.

My rom is "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (USA, Europe).gb"
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Da_GPer on March 12, 2013, 02:57:37 am
All gameboy roms have a header that's how the gameboy tells if it's gb or gbc.

My rom is "Super Mario Land 2 - 6 Golden Coins (USA, Europe).gb"

I searched for that exact file, and after downloading and patching it, it gave the same messed up colors and graphics that the others did.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Hiei- on March 12, 2013, 11:21:15 am
A bit off-topic but a colored version of Zelda would be nice.

I know the DX version is in color but it don't use the full capacity of colors of the GameBoy Color to be retrocompatible with the previous systems so it don't use as much colors that the GameBoy Boy Color games that aren't retrocompatible.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Dwedit on March 12, 2013, 11:31:50 am
Zelda DX definitely used the full palette of colors available, it just didn't use the second bank of VRAM.  You also get different tile graphics depending on whether it is played on a GBC or an original Game Boy.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: KingMike on March 12, 2013, 03:00:04 pm
It must've used the extra bank in the Color Dungeon, though.
I've seen someone force their way in in monochrome mode in a video. Glitched tiles everywhere, as I remember. :D
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 12, 2013, 05:44:35 pm
I searched for that exact file, and after downloading and patching it, it gave the same messed up colors and graphics that the others did.

What can I say.  I re-downloaded the rom.  Downloaded my patch.  Applied it, loaded it into bgb, it runs fine.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: caninis on March 12, 2013, 06:49:16 pm
The problem is not a rom-patching issue, it's an emulator issue

Startup bgb and go into options, & choose exceptions
Select "Troubleshoot broken PD roms", and unselect all options relating to emulate as in reality

The patch does not work on a real gameboy, so the emulator must be designed to function accordingly
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Da_GPer on March 13, 2013, 02:41:19 am
What can I say.  I re-downloaded the rom.  Downloaded my patch.  Applied it, loaded it into bgb, it runs fine.

The problem is not a rom-patching issue, it's an emulator issue

Startup bgb and go into options, & choose exceptions
Select "Troubleshoot broken PD roms", and unselect all options relating to emulate as in reality

The patch does not work on a real gameboy, so the emulator must be designed to function accordingly

Ah. Thats maybe why Im having problems. Im using VBA, not bgb. Is there a way to fix it using VBA? Id want to have it running on VBA due to it also being VBA on my Wii as well as my PC.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 13, 2013, 08:00:29 am
All you need to do is uncheck for "inaccessible vram" "emulate as in reality".  I assumed people would be running it like that since that's how bgb is set by default.

I just re-downloaded the rom, re-downloaded the patch, applied the patch, and loaded it in vba 23.2.  This patch runs fine in vba, you're doing it wrong.  Nothing is wrong with vba, nothing is wrong with my patch, you're doing something wrong.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Crysta on March 13, 2013, 08:36:14 am
What are you using to patch it, Drakon?
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 13, 2013, 08:38:42 am
What are you using to patch it, Drakon?

http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/240/ (http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/240/)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Crysta on March 13, 2013, 08:43:38 am
Okay.. next question would be is the titlescreen shot you posted at the start of the thread what it should look like when being run or did you change it?
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Ridculle on March 13, 2013, 08:49:30 am
Okay.. next question would be is the titlescreen shot you posted at the start of the thread what it should look like when being run or did you change it?

Why don't you post a screenshot of the screentitle you get in the emulator ?

Maybe Drakon will see what your problem is...
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: caninis on March 13, 2013, 04:25:10 pm
Certain versions of VBA are set to work with GBcolorizer, while some aren't
The official version (1.7.2) is, while VBA-M (& those based on 1.8.0) may come up with the so-called glitched out graphics

And Crysta, no the title screen posted in the first page is not representative of how the game should look on that screen  (just play on to see the color)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 14, 2013, 08:23:08 am
Okay.. next question would be is the titlescreen shot you posted at the start of the thread what it should look like when being run or did you change it?

No it's not how it should look, I just copied it from the original patch link which also doesn't display the title screen like that.  Once you get past the title screen you'll see it looks proper.

Here you people go.

(http://imgboot.com/images/Drakon/ml2cshots.jpg)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Da_GPer on March 15, 2013, 12:32:57 am
Certain versions of VBA are set to work with GBcolorizer, while some aren't
The official version (1.7.2) is, while VBA-M (& those based on 1.8.0) may come up with the so-called glitched out graphics

And Crysta, no the title screen posted in the first page is not representative of how the game should look on that screen  (just play on to see the color)

No it's not how it should look, I just copied it from the original patch link which also doesn't display the title screen like that.  Once you get past the title screen you'll see it looks proper.

Here you people go.

(http://imgboot.com/images/Drakon/ml2cshots.jpg)

Ah. I see now. Im using VBA-M. Thats why it gave the messed up colors and graphics. I ran them on the official VBA and got no problems. It looks just like the pics Drakon showed us. Metroid 2 also doesnt have the red background either. I just hope the Wii version will not have the problems. I didnt test it on that yet, but will soon.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on March 15, 2013, 09:00:24 am
All the more reason for this hack to be made playable on hardware then. Maybe you guys should pick this up again if you aren't too busy. The game is fun enough for most people to want to see playable on a real system. I know it's boring to Drakon, but it's short enough that he shouldn't have to replay it TOO much.

Edit: What version of VBA is reccomended to work with the patch, what are you using Drakon? When I use 1.7.2, the colors aren't set right.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Spikeman on March 15, 2013, 02:25:05 pm
Metroid 2 also doesnt have the red background either.

I guess this is a little off-topic, but could you take a screenshot of this? There's still one or two things I'd like to fix in Metroid 2 before calling it finished. With Metroid 2 we did a lot of hacks to make sure it'd run on actual hardware, and I'm pretty sure Drakon tested it on his devcart, so this might be an emulator bug.

As far as Marioland 2, what Drakon's done so far just makes it playable in an emulator, we haven't gone through the trouble to making it fully compatible with hardware yet. Partially because the game is a buggy mess even before the colorization, and partially because we're both busy with other projects.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on March 15, 2013, 06:50:59 pm
Hopefully you guys come back to this, cause requiring specific versions of a emulator kind of sucks.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on March 15, 2013, 10:08:44 pm
All the more reason for this hack to be made playable on hardware then. Maybe you guys should pick this up again if you aren't too busy. The game is fun enough for most people to want to see playable on a real system. I know it's boring to Drakon, but it's short enough that he shouldn't have to replay it TOO much.

Edit: What version of VBA is reccomended to work with the patch, what are you using Drakon? When I use 1.7.2, the colors aren't set right.

I've been working on other crud.  Got starfox 1 running at 48 mhz, which is insanely fast.  To put it into perspective the default speed of starfox 1 is 21.47 mhz.  If starfox 1 went any faster it would go too fast for the snes to be able to keep up, here's what happens at 50 mhz:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zt29sSn7B3Y (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zt29sSn7B3Y)

Pretty good news, I finally got starfox 1 running at the maximum speed possible.

I guess this is a little off-topic, but could you take a screenshot of this? There's still one or two things I'd like to fix in Metroid 2 before calling it finished. With Metroid 2 we did a lot of hacks to make sure it'd run on actual hardware, and I'm pretty sure Drakon tested it on his devcart, so this might be an emulator bug.

As far as Marioland 2, what Drakon's done so far just makes it playable in an emulator, we haven't gone through the trouble to making it fully compatible with hardware yet. Partially because the game is a buggy mess even before the colorization, and partially because we're both busy with other projects.

I tested it on the devcart start to finish it's fine on the real hardware runs just like bgb.  If some emulator is too retarded to even draw the colours like the real hardware then I'm sorry, get a decent emulator.  I tailor stuff for the real hardware, not emulators that can't even draw colours right.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on March 16, 2013, 03:51:23 pm
I haven't played the game enough recently to notice the difference. When you get the glitches fixed up you should post a comparison video. It'll do a better job showing off the differences.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Hiei- on March 16, 2013, 04:51:09 pm
Zelda DX definitely used the full palette of colors available, it just didn't use the second bank of VRAM.  You also get different tile graphics depending on whether it is played on a GBC or an original Game Boy.

So, why does it seems to have less colors than GameBoy Color games only?  :o (and I read somewhere that you could only get the full colors in a game only if you dump the retrocompatibility, so it's a fake?)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on April 05, 2013, 10:44:41 pm
Something I made for fun.  Marioland 2 reprogrammed to run on a mbc5 mapper chip:

http://www.mediafire.com/?2jb92358149wqfp (http://www.mediafire.com/?2jb92358149wqfp)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: What Defines A Monster? on June 26, 2013, 09:12:42 am
Hello.

I made the original Mario Land 2 and Metroid II DX patches.

Thank you for fixing them. I am grateful you did it.

The reason why the title screen (and various other things) look different is because the screenshots were taken from a more advanced version of the colorization. It was far more complete than the initial patch. That completed patch, unfortunately, was lost when a computer crash took down everything I had on my PC. Since the patch crashed after every level, I had never tried to redo what had been lost.

You are wonderful!
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on June 26, 2013, 07:56:14 pm
Hello.

I made the original Mario Land 2 and Metroid II DX patches.

Thank you for fixing them. I am grateful you did it.

The reason why the title screen (and various other things) look different is because the screenshots were taken from a more advanced version of the colorization. It was far more complete than the initial patch. That completed patch, unfortunately, was lost when a computer crash took down everything I had on my PC. Since the patch crashed after every level, I had never tried to redo what had been lost.

You are wonderful!

No problem.  Too bad making a version that will run on real hardware is too much effort for us to bother.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: bradzx on October 01, 2013, 12:51:05 pm
There is something missing about this game.  When I get starman power, it is not flashing, it just normal.  What if deaf people play this game and didn't hear starman power music?  I just wonder if you can fix it or not.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Lilinda on October 01, 2013, 02:02:46 pm
It's supposed to flash. I've had the game since the '90s and trust me I've had a flashing Mario quite a few times...
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: bradzx on October 02, 2013, 09:15:18 am
Oh.  Maybe emulator problem for not catch up for flashing?
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on October 20, 2013, 07:58:41 am
There is something missing about this game.  When I get starman power, it is not flashing, it just normal.  What if deaf people play this game and didn't hear starman power music?  I just wonder if you can fix it or not.

Often when going from black and white to full colour certain effects no longer work like the metroid 2 fading between zones effect.  A lot changes when you're no longer working with 4 shades of gray.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: FroggestSpirit on November 17, 2013, 12:08:19 pm
I'm not going to even touch this due to the fact that I hate the GB colorizer program. If you want to see a real colorized game, check out my bugs bunny crazy castle 2 hack, or the Pokemon Red in color that I helped with. Anyways, I feel like I might give this game a treatment from scratch, and maybe add in goodies, like the ability to play as luigi. I've done some research on the game, so I can modify the physics aswell.

As for the starman, that would require a palette dedicated to the star/mario (mario will most likely have one) or the star can have 2 frames, with the pixels swapping instead of the palette. (mario would have a palette edit to make him flash)
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: MathUser2929 on November 17, 2013, 12:35:18 pm
Well, we need one that works on hardware, so if you can do that your hack will have an edge on the other one.
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Chippy2000 on November 22, 2013, 03:58:21 pm
Good job on the fix. Have a cookie  :cookie:
Title: Re: Marioland 2 Full Colour Playable Patch
Post by: Drakon on November 22, 2013, 08:23:42 pm
I'm not going to even touch this due to the fact that I hate the GB colorizer program. If you want to see a real colorized game, check out my bugs bunny crazy castle 2 hack, or the Pokemon Red in color that I helped with. Anyways, I feel like I might give this game a treatment from scratch, and maybe add in goodies, like the ability to play as luigi. I've done some research on the game, so I can modify the physics aswell.

As for the starman, that would require a palette dedicated to the star/mario (mario will most likely have one) or the star can have 2 frames, with the pixels swapping instead of the palette. (mario would have a palette edit to make him flash)

You'd probably be better off starting from scratch, especially if you have the skill to do something fantastic like this.  Really I just fixed a big that required a little breakpoint work and changing one hex character.