logo
 drop

Main

Community

Submissions

Help

71475362 visitors

Author Topic: SM's Top 100 GameBoy/GameBoy Color Games of All Time  (Read 1010 times)

Satoshi_Matrix

• Retro & Contemporary Gamer
    • View Profile
    • Retro & Contemporary Gaming Archives
SM's Top 100 GameBoy/GameBoy Color Games of All Time
« on: December 01, 2012, 06:35:03 am »
I'm still fairly new here, so I'm not sure if this kind of thread is fair game, but I don't see any reason why it wouldn't be, and given that this community is dedicated to pixel based retro gaming I have a hunch there will be people who will really enjoy this. 

Who the hell am I? Some background:
Among other things, I'm an amateur gaming journalist with a specific aim at retro gaming. For the past several years, I've been writing articles on my blog about two of my favorite consoles of all time: The NES/Famicom and the GameBoy/GameBoy Color. Last year, I wrote an extensive top 100 NES/Famicom editorial with the aim of creating the best such list anywhere, complete with literally hundreds of screenshots, logical reasoning behind the picks and interesting facts. For the effort, it was hosted on a number of retro gaming sites including retrowaretv, famicom world, racketboy and I even had an hour audio interview about it with JewWario. 

Since then, I've decided to focus on my other great love of retro gaming, the classic GameBoy. For the past few months I've been working on:

This list is dedicated to the top 100 GameBoy and GameBoy Color games released between 1989 to 2002. It contains both original black-and-white and color titles. Placement was deemed after several hundred candidates that been evaluated in a number of ways including how well each holds up today in terms of playability and enjoyment.

Each part is composed of ten games and is the result of dozens of hours writing, researching, screen capturing and of course, playing so I write from a fresh mind and not based on nostalgia.